Blog Post Image Cover Reveal Crossed Out - Malcolm Hollingdrake
Spotlight & Events

Cover Reveal | Crossed Out – Malcolm Hollingdrake

I am super proud to show you the intriguing and awesome cover for CROSSED OUT – the sixth instalment of Malcolm Hollingdrake’s successful, thrilling and thoroughly exciting DCI BENNETT series! 


I LOVE the fabulous cover for CROSSED OUT – Malcolm Hollingdrake’s sixth (!) instalment in the acknowledged DCI Bennett series, set in Harrogate and published by Bloodhound Books. The series is a favourite of mine; both DCI Cyril Bennett and DS David Owen have become almost real-life friends err.. characters to me – I highly recommend the series to all crime and detective thriller lovers not in the least because of the author’s erudite writing style, in which he combines police procedurals with insights into the personal lives of the police officers. The author’s love for Harrogate and the world of art, especially for Northern artists, shines through in all the instalments of his detective thrillers.

The Publication Day for CROSSED OUT is January 28th, 2018, the day the book blog tour starts – and I am delighted to tell you that I will be blog tour host on January 30th, 2018. Now .. let us see what CROSSED OUT  is all about… cannot wait to read it!

In the meantime, you can catch up on reading the other books in the DCI BENNETT series, set in Harrogate.
Just scroll down and click on the titles! CROSSED OUT will be available for pre-order on January 14th, 2018.

The Book 

DCI Bennett and his team are back and called to a house in Ripon that has collapsed into a sinkhole where a body is discovered.

Soon old weathered Remembrance Crosses are found dug up. Each one numbered.

DC April Richmond is assigned to help the team due to her impressive biblical knowledge and soon makes a startling discovery.

Meanwhile, Gideon Fletcher is walking around the streets of Harrogate distributing religious texts. Is there a link between Gideon and the crosses? Do the crosses have anything to do with the body in the house?

Bennett and the team find themselves wondering if the killer is exacting revenge or punishment and whatever the answer, they soon realise the clock is ticking.

The Series 

Every book in the exciting DCI Bennett series, published by Bloodhound Books, comes highly recommended and can be read as a stand-alone. However, I would strongly recommend reading them in order! The development of characters, the relationships, starting with the first book, ‘Only the Dead’ and moving on from there will definitely be worth your while. You are hooked before you know it!

The DCI Bennett Series, all read and reviewed by me:
#1 ‘Only the Dead (my review)
#2  ‘Hell’s Gate’ (my review)
#3 ‘Flesh Evidence’ (my review)
#4 ‘Game Point’ (my review)
#5 ‘Dying Art‘ (my review)

What Readers Say 

Only the Dead:
“There is something really exciting about starting a new series of books and getting to know the team of detectives and DCI Cyril Bennett and DS David Owen are no exception. Talk about opposites but it works beautifully. I am going to love finding out more about these two as the series unfolds.
This is a very intriguing story that you will want to carry on reading without stopping, with the main characters feeling like you have known them for years when you finish. Bring on number two please.”
Susan, Books from Dusk Till Dawn

Hell’s Gate:
Hell’s Gate is the second book in the DCI Bennett series and it’s every bit as brilliant as the first one. This is fast becoming another firm favourite of mine.”
Eva, Noveldeelights

Starting with ‘Only The Dead,’ the author’s writing is very descriptive and paints a beautiful picture, creating a steady paced following story. But by the second book, the author has stepped up his game and gives us a gritty gripping story with graphic descriptions…Hell yes, this series is definitely going places.”
Shell, Chelle’s Book Reviews 

Flesh Evidence:
“Flesh Evidence is the third book in the DCI Cyril Bennett series and boy! what a book. It can easily be read as a stand alone but as it’s a great series would recommend reading them all.
I really have to take my hat off to the author for this brilliant storyline. It literally grabbed me by the collar and sent me hurdling full speed through the book.”
Sarah, By The Letter Book Reviews

Game Point:
While the characterization was complex the plot was equally intricate and had me struggling to fit all the puzzle pieces together myself. Hollingdrake’s writing was descriptive and very gritty, this is a grim, gruesome case and things are extremely graphically detailed, so beware if you’re faint-hearted. I really liked this one and I’m excited to see where the author takes this series and Cyril next, the possibilities are endless and exciting.”
Amy, Novelgossip

Dying Art:
I love Dying Art, not least because of the erudite writing style with the beautiful sentences but also because the author’s knowledge of art and love for Northern art shines through on almost every page of this detective thriller. The plot is intricate and enthralling and nothing is what it seems in the art world where the greed of corrupt art dealers blights the enjoyment of art for art’s sake. Needless to say, the DCI Bennett series comes highly recommended!”
Caroline, Bits about Books (yes, that is me

About Malcolm Hollingdrake

Malcolm Hollingdrake Author Image

You could say that the writing was clearly written on the wall for anyone born in a library that they might aspire to be an author but to get to that point, Malcolm Hollingdrake has travelled a circuitous route. The author worked in education for many years, even teaching for a period in Cairo before he started writing, a challenge he had longed to tackle for more years than he cares to remember. Malcolm Hollingdrake has written a number of successful short stories and has six books now available, as well as Only the Dead and Hell’s Gate in Audiobook format. Presently, he is concentrating on a series of crime novels set in Harrogate, North Yorkshire.

Born in Bradford and spending three years in Ripon, Malcolm Hollingdrake has never lost his love for his home county, a passion reflected in the settings for all his novels. Malcolm has enjoyed many hobbies including collecting works by Northern artists; the art auctions offer a degree of excitement when both buying and certainly when selling. It is a hobby he has bestowed on DCI Cyril Bennett, the protagonist of the DCI Bennett series, set in and around Harrogate.

Book Info 

Buy from Amazon US Icon Buy from Amazon UK Icon

Paperback  220 pages
 Publisher  Bloodhound Books (28 Jan. 2018)
 ISBN  9781912175857
 eBook  902 KB


  • Robert Crouch

    Great cover. I’ve been meaning to read Only the Dead for a while, so I feel a New Year’s resolution coming

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: