No One Will Hear - Joel Hames - Book Cover
Detective, Mystery & Thriller

No One Will Hear – Joel Hames

What a fantastic thriller! I love it! Two arch-enemies. A will. A murder most vile. Somehow, this forces the two to work together. But Sam Williams has problems of his own. Will he be able to solve them or will he delve his own grave? Follow me and find out…


Elizabeth Maurier has been murdered. She has “left a legacy of justice, of noble service to the law, she has left memories of the battles she fought..” Sam Williams wonders why he has to attend the hearing of the will from his former mentor and boss. It is not like they were still friends. Or even colleagues. Among the people present, he spots David Brooks-Powell, his arch-enemy. The one who reported him. The reason Sam challenged his former boss in court. As it happens, Lizzie Maurier’s mother wanted her memories written and the people she chose to compose them are.. yes, you can guess.


Sam is furious but gets no sympathy from his girlfriend, Claire who pointedly informs him that he has nothing better to do anyway. Reluctantly, he meets up with Brooks-Powell and Lizzie. And finds out why Lizzie is so desperate a book about her mother should be written. But there is also something unexpected.

A DI who hates his guts, accompanied by a DC, Colman, who apparently feels different and spills the beans about the victim’s horrific mutilation. ‘No one will hear.’ what message is that? Truth be told, Sam is more interested in the murder than writing the memories and when a trip to the police station reveals shocking evidence he knows he cannot let go. On top of that, things at home are not so great, Claire is growing distant and it looks like she has had it with him…

As Sam is trying to make sense of the words and the murder, he is pursued by a journalist, helped by a Colman and definitely not by her DI, as well as a so-called friend, he finds himself in high circles, manipulative behaviour and no idea of who to trust… Meanwhile, the situation with Claire is getting worse and he fails to understand what is going on.

Sam would not be Sam if he did not put his big foot in about every door he can think of in order to find out the devious mind behind Elizabeth Maurier’s murder. Does he jeopardise everything and for what? A murder investigation he should have left to the police? It is certainly not for his old boss’s memories or for the pleasure of working together with Brooks-Powell! But things get worse and now lives are at stake… is Sam able to prevent it?

My Thoughts

What a fab thriller this is! I enjoyed reading it. ‘No One Will Hear’ is engrossing and captivating and well-written. The author takes you with him on Sam’s path to find out the truth or better still, Sam’s way of not dealing with the important issues in his life. Until it is too late…

This is the first book in the Sam Williams series I have read and there were references to earlier cases, in Manchester, but all in all, this second instalment is good to be read as a standalone. I did have a bit of difficulty with one of the characters as I could not fully understand where he came from – but it was somewhat explained later in the book. If this character is also part of the first book, perhaps I would have known but it hardly deterred from reading on.

To be honest, I read it in one session as I simply could not stop! It was a late, late night but boy, it was worth it! Entertaining, enjoyable, gripping and at times chilling – No One Will Hear is a cracker and the Sam Williams series one to watch out for!

The Sam Williams Series:
#1 Dead North 
#2 No One Will Hear
#3 The Cold Years

About the Author

Joel Hames Author Image

Joel Hames lives in rural Lancashire, England, with his wife and two daughters, where he works hard at looking serious and pretending to be a proper novelist.
After a varied career in London which involved City law firms, a picture frame warehouse, an investment bank and a number of market stalls (he has been known to cry out “Belgian chocolates going cheap over ‘ere” in his sleep), Joel relocated from the Big Smoke to be his own boss. As a result, he now writes what he wants, when he wants to (which by coincidence is when the rest of the family choose to let him).

Joel’s first novel, Bankers Town, was published in 2014, and The Art of Staying Dead followed in 2015. The novellas Brexecution (written and published in the space of ten days following the UK’s Brexit referendum, with half of the profits going to charity) and Victims were published in 2016 and 2017 respectively.

Book Info

No One Will Hear is available at Amazon

Pages 331 pages
Publisher Joel Hames (13 July 2018)
ISBN (paperback) 9781983235658
ASIN (e-book) B07FK2B8K7

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: