Detective, Mystery & Thriller

The Note – Andrew Barrett


When CSI Eddie Collins finds himself once again outside working a scene, he has a queasy feeling of being watched. If only he had paid attention …  


CSI Eddie Collins is working a scene during a rainy night whilst being watched by a few drunken bystanders. He cannot shake the creepy feeling that someone else too, is watching him, but as nothing seems out of the ordinary he shrugs it off. Although Eddie cannot put a name to the face of the butchered male he feels sure he has seen him before.

To make matters worse, Detective Sergeant Trafford aka ‘Dibble’ (as Eddie likes to call him) orders Eddie to “lock the scene down.” Knowing Eddie Collins, following a direct order is not his strongest point, even less so when it goes against his professionality as a CSI.


Eddie Collins is a superb CSI who excels at his job. He safeguards the crime scenes, refusing to release them to anyone until every scrap of evidence is gathered. Nobody, be they colleague, boss and certainly not DS ‘Dibble’ will prevent Eddie from doing his job to the utmost. It seems the two men have set off on the wrong foot (even if they have met before) and Eddie is not one to let it go easily…

Meanwhile, Eddie has matched the name of John Tyler the body, a victim of domestic abuse who only recently came forward to make a statement. Tyler gave permission for CSI to take photographs of his body and face as evidence – showing the bite marks all over it. There is more worrying stuff for Eddie because back in his office he finds a letter saying “your going to die tonight.”  Bad spelling indeed! Should the letter be dismissed or is it a real threat considering the apparent fury behind the stab marks on the note?

My Thoughts

If you like your detective or CSI to be the man in the perfectly fitting suit, using his grey cells rather than his fists and never to be accused of bad language this is most definitely not your book!

With Eddie Collins, Andrew Barrett created a true-to-life character with his foul-mouthedness and his downright rude behaviour towards colleagues and superiors. Sometimes Eddie is Mr Grumpy himself, other times he is apparently quite the ladies man.  Even if you cannot stand his attitude from time to time and would want to urge him to, for once, try to be nice, you just have to love him.

This punchy novella is excellently written and at times pretty gruesome. There is so much in it, it is hard to believe it is only 60 pages because it has everything: the creepy intro, the fearful situations and the shocker! I cannot divulge more, you have to read it for yourself! Meanwhile, I am holding my breath for the fifth instalment in the CSI Eddie Collins Series – a thriller to look forward to!

The CSI Eddie Collins Books:

#1 The Third Rule 
#2 Black by Rose
#3 Sword of Damocles 
#4 Ledston Luck 
The Note *Eddie Collins Short Story* 
#5 The Death of Jessica Ripley 
#6 This Side of Death 


About the Author

Andrew Barrett Author Image

Andrew Barrett has enjoyed variety in his professional life, from engine-builder to farmer, from Oilfield Service Technician in Kuwait to his current role of Senior CSI in Yorkshire. He’s been a CSI since 1996 and has worked on all scene types from terrorism to murder, suicide to rape, drugs manufacture to bomb scenes. One way or another, Andrew’s life revolves around crime.

In 1997 he finished his first crime thriller, A Long Time Dead, and it’s still a readers’ favourite today, some 200,000 copies later, topping the Amazon charts several times. Two more books featuring SOCO Roger Conniston completed the trilogy. Today, Andrew is still producing high-quality, authentic crime thrillers with a forensic flavour that attract the attention of readers worldwide. He’s also attracted attention from the Yorkshire media, having been featured in the Yorkshire Post, and twice interviewed on BBC Radio Leeds.

He’s best known for his lead character, CSI Eddie Collins, and the acerbic way in which he roots out criminals and administers justice. Eddie’s series is four books and two short stories in length, and there’s still more to come. Andrew is a proud Yorkshireman and sets all of his novels there, using his home city of Leeds as another major, and complementary, character in each of the stories.

Book Info

Buy from Amazon UK Icon

 Pages  98 
 Publisher  Bloodhound Books (14 Jun. 2018)
 ASIN (e-book)  B07DRF9NFD

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: