Pay The Penance - Rob Ashman - Book Cover
Spotlight & Events

Trailer & Cover Reveal | Pay the Penance – Rob Ashman

Lucas, Harper and Moran are prepared to give their all to catch the extremely dangerous, twisted and tormented serial killer Mechanic 

Trailer & Cover Reveal

How will Rob Ashman end his extremely gripping and powerful MECHANIC series? Who will live and who will die? Will it leave us with all the answers or devastated and screaming for more? Soon, it is time to find out!

On August 8th UK’s independent publisher of crime and thriller fiction Bloodhound Books publish the final instalment of the MECHANIC TRILOGY: PAY THE PENANCE. 

Bits about Books is proud to present you an exclusive trailer – Watch this trailer on Bits about Books’ YouTube Channel 

The Book 

Murder. Corruption. Revenge.  

 Lucas has been tracking a killer, known as Mechanic, when his world is shattered. Unable to continue his hunt for the murderer he is forced to rely on his friend and colleague Dick Harper. But Harper has a knack for not playing by the rules. He doesn’t disappoint. 

 Meanwhile, Detective Moran is trying to piece her life back togetherThe police stumble upon new evidence without grasping its significance. She has to divert the investigation if she is to survive. 

 The police are closer to Mechanic than they realise which putMoran right in the firing line. 

 Mechanic, as usual, has other plans and the consequences for Lucas and Harper are terrifying…  

The Series 

Pay the Penance is the third and last instalment in The Mechanic Trilogy. The other instalments in the series are:
Mechanic #1  Those That Remain (my review)
Mechanic #2  In Your Name (my review)

I would recommend reading these books in order so as to fully understand the intricacies of the violent entanglements.

The series features Florida State Police Lieutenant Lucas who, after investigating what looks like an ordinary home invasion, stumbles upon the slaughtered bodies of a family, leaving the mother heavily injured. This modus operandi triggers recollections of Mechanic, a serial killer believed dead. Soon, Lucas is in over his head – and he needs the information of his predecessor Harper as well as the assistance of Jo Sells of the FBI’s Behavioral Science Unit.

The catastrophic events of Those That Remain leave Lucas shattered and broken – driven by only one emotion: revenge! When he receives a cryptical message and no one believes him, he takes matters into his own hands, jeopardising everything: his career, his marriage, his life …

In Your Name, book two in the series has made Lucas hit rock bottom. But it gets even worse because we know Mechanic has another nasty surprise for Lucas … Do Lucas and Harper have it in them to fight one more time? To get their revenge on the sadistic serial killer? And what about Moran? She has had a difficult time in In Your Name – is she able to cope and put it all behind her? Once again, lives are put in danger. Will the three of them survive? And who will Pay the Penance?

Find out in this extremely gripping last book of the series: Pay the Penance. Coming soon on August 8th. Published by Bloodhound Books.

What Readers Say

“it is one hell of a  twisted cat and mouse game ending in a thrilling and nail-biting climax! It delivered everything I could ever ask for!”
– Sharon Bairden of Chapter in My Life: Scottish Crime Fiction Blogger

“Ashman has delivered another creatively brilliant novel to the readers. it is an extremely alluring read with repulsive crimes – too enthralling to put down.”
– Alexina Golding of Bookstormer

““A horrifying and spine-chilling journey aboard an out-of-control roller coaster speeding forward towards the shocking climax.”
Bits about Books (yes, I have read Pay the Penance!)

About the Author 

Rob Ashman Author Image

Rob Ashman is a British author, originally from South Wales but since twenty years now living in North Lincolnshire with his wife and two (grown up) daughters. Rob worked, as most Welsh Valley boys did, for the National Coal Board after leaving school at sixteen before entering University at the age of twenty-three. He worked in a variety of manufacturing and consulting roles both in the UK and abroad until he finally decided to ‘listen to the voices in his head’ and start his writing career. The story of ‘Mechanic’ is a book that somehow was stuck in his head for almost twenty-five years; when, due to personal circumstances, Rob had to take three months leave to care for his parents, writing down the story in his head became his way of coping. The result of four years of writing: the birth of ‘The Mechanic Trilogy’ a thrilling crime series. When he is not writing, Rob is a frustrated chef with a liking for beer and prosecco, and is known for occasional outbreaks of dancing. Rob Ashman now writes full time and has recently completed his fourth novel titled Faceless.

Book Info

Buy from Amazon US Icon  Buy from Amazon UK Icon

Paperback  282 pages
 Publisher  Bloodhound Books (31 July 2017)
 ISBN  978-1912175475
 eBook  1062 KB (8 Aug 2017)

%d bloggers like this: