Blog Post Image Trailer Crossed Out - Malcolm Hollingdrake
Books in the Spotlight

Trailer | About Cyril Bennett | Crossed Out – Malcolm Hollingdrake

Now CROSSED OUT – the sixth instalment of Malcolm Hollingdrake’s successful, thrilling and thoroughly exciting DCI BENNETT series is about to be published, I have a special teaser for you: the CROSSED OUT trailer! Check it out!

CROSSED OUT will be published on Jan.28th, 2018 by Bloodhound Books and is now available for pre-order! 

Cyril Bennett 

You might be aware that I LOVE the DCI Bennett series by Malcolm Hollingdrake! Detective novels are among my favourite genres, especially those where it is not just about the case(s). What motivates the leading detectives and how do they interact with their team – how does their personal life influence their work? Cyril Bennett is an intriguing protagonist I felt drawn to from the very first DCI Bennett book, Only the Dead.

In the opening chapters of Only the Dead, we perceive a man who suffers from the aftermath of a recent palsy which paralyzed half of his face. A man who used to be attractive and handsome but who now feels he has lost his touch due to the palsy. A man we have yet fully to know but is already shown to us in all his vulnerability. It might seem a strange introduction to a character, let alone a (now successful) series but.. well… we love him for it! In my eyes, a very promising start of what would become an awesome series!

Book by book, we get to know Cyril Bennett and his team, among whom David Owen, Bennett’s right hand, in almost everything the opposite of his boss. Cyril likes to dress smartly, Owen does not like to wear a tie; Cyril likes his tea in a cup with saucer (and please, do not spill tea onto the saucer, Owen!) whereas Owen prefers his in a mug. Cyril is moderate in most things he eats, Owen likes his cakes and eats almost anything. Cyril does not like Owen to state the obvious and Owen knows better than to call his boss ‘Flash,’ only one person is allowed to use the word (who might that be? Read the books and you will find out!). But both have their copper’s instincts and gut feelings and both excel in their job and somehow, the combination is gold.

But there is more to Malcolm Hollingdrake’s DCI Bennett books, apart from the fact that they are set in Harrogate, the lovely Yorkshire town featuring the annual Harrogate Crime Writing Festival. The books are eloquently written and have beautiful descriptive sentences that you sometimes have to ‘taste’ to fully get the meaning. And the author has bestowed upon his leading character his own hobby, collecting art, especially paintings by Northern artists. Slowly, bit by bit, we also learn to know the man behind the mask and in Crossed Out, there is so much to be revealed! After reading Crossed Out, you will know so much more about Cyril Bennett and somehow, confronting his past is beneficial to Cyril but that is something you will have to discover yourself!

Meanwhile, I have got something special for you: Check out this teaser for Crossed Out!
And for those of you (really, where have you been for the past year or so?) who still have not read the books in the DCI Bennett series, what are you waiting for?!

The Trailer 

This trailer can be found on Bits about Books’ YouTube Channel

The Book 

DCI Bennett and his team are back and called to a house in Ripon that has collapsed into a sinkhole where a body is discovered.

Soon old weathered Remembrance Crosses are found dug up. Each one numbered.

DC April Richmond is assigned to help the team due to her impressive biblical knowledge and soon makes a startling discovery.

Meanwhile, Gideon Fletcher is walking around the streets of Harrogate distributing religious texts. Is there a link between Gideon and the crosses? Do the crosses have anything to do with the body in the house?

Bennett and the team find themselves wondering if the killer is exacting revenge or punishment and whatever the answer, they soon realise the clock is ticking.

The Series 

Every book in the exciting DCI Bennett series, published by Bloodhound Books, comes highly recommended and can be read as a stand-alone. However, I would strongly recommend reading them in order! The development of characters, the relationships, starting with the first book, ‘Only the Dead’ and moving on from there will definitely be worth your while. You are hooked before you know it!

The DCI Bennett series:
#1 Only the Dead – –my review
#2 Hell’s Gate – – my review
#3 Flesh Evidence – – my review
#4 Game Point – – my review)
#5 Dying Art – –my review
#6 Crossed Out – – my review
#7 The Third Breath – – my review

About Malcolm Hollingdrake 

Malcolm Hollingdrake Author Image

You could say that the writing was clearly written on the wall for anyone born in a library that they might aspire to be an author but to get to that point, Malcolm Hollingdrake has travelled a circuitous route. The author worked in education for many years, even teaching for a period in Cairo before he started writing, a challenge he had longed to tackle for more years than he cares to remember. Malcolm Hollingdrake has written a number of successful short stories and has six books now available, as well as Only the Dead and Hell’s Gate in Audiobook format. Presently, he is concentrating on a series of crime novels set in Harrogate, North Yorkshire.

Born in Bradford and spending three years in Ripon, Malcolm Hollingdrake has never lost his love for his home county, a passion reflected in the settings for all his novels. Malcolm has enjoyed many hobbies including collecting works by Northern artists; the art auctions offer a degree of excitement when both buying and certainly when selling. It is a hobby he has bestowed on DCI Cyril Bennett, the protagonist of the DCI Bennett series, set in and around Harrogate.

Malcolm Hollingdrake on Social Media:
Author Website:
FB Page:
Amazon Author Page:

Book Info 

CROSSED OUT is available at Amazon:


Paperback  220 pages
 Publisher  Bloodhound Books (28 Jan. 2018)
 ISBN  9781912175857
 eBook   902 KB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: