Dying Art - Malcolm Hollingdrake - Book Cover
Spotlight & Events

Trailer | Dying Art – Malcolm Hollingdrake

Two weeks before DCI Bennett is back in DYING ART (and boy, did we miss him!) we have a surprise: an intriguing and captivating video, Malcolm Hollingdrake’s own artistic creation

The Trailer

Beware the unquenchable thirst of avarice for greed leads to corruption and, eventually, murder …

Those of you who follow Malcolm Hollingdrake’s DCI Bennett series know that GAME POINT – book #4 in the series – left the team heartbroken. Where DS David Owen is able to cope with his feelings of grief and despair, DCI Bennett has difficulty coming to terms with the devastating events of the last book, especially with his feelings of guilt. When a murder takes place and the art world is involved DS Owen’s temporary boss DI Helen Claire (!) does her best but as we know, there is only one man with the specialist knowledge to crack the case … DCI Bennett!

You can also watch the trailer on Bits about Books’ YouTube Channel

The Book 

A gripping and explosive crime thriller

Following his recovery from a personal and professional trauma, Detective Chief Inspector Cyril Bennett has been declared medically fit to resume his police duties. He returns to discover a complex case involving the art world.

Soon Bennett unearths a dark side of the industry where greed, ambition and dubious practices thrive and, where there is money to be made, violence and murder are never far away.

Working their way through a maze of galleries, museums and the internet, Bennett’s team struggles to make sense of the evidence.

Can Bennett tell the difference between what is real and what is fake?

The Series

Dying Art is the fifth instalment in Malcolm Hollingdrake’s successful DCI Bennett series. all published by UK’s independent publisher of crime and thriller fiction Bloodhound Books.
I strongly recommend reading the series in order. The first four instalments are:
#1Only the Dead (my review)
#2  ‘Hell’s Gate’ (my review)
#3 ‘Flesh Evidence’ (my review)
#4 Game Point (my review)

One more thing: the DCI Bennett Series is set in Harrogate – and it is no coincidence that Dying Art is published just before the 2017 Theakston Old Peculiar Crime Writing Festival, annually held in Harrogate. Where else?!

The Author

Malcolm Hollingdrake Author Image

If you were born in a library … no wonder you have it in you to be an author one day! That is what happened to Malcolm Hollingdrake and although he took a circuitous route via a teaching career, once challenged to do so, he started writing vigorously. Malcolm has written a number of successful short stories and is currently working on the sixth book in the DCI Bennett Series. Did you know that Malcolm enjoys collecting works from Northern artists and attending art auctions? Yes, just like his protagonist Cyril Bennett! Malcolm Hollingdrake cherishes his home county, which is why his series of crime novels are set in Harrogate.

Book Info

Dying Art is already available for pre-order! Just click on the Amazon link for your copy!  

Buy from Amazon US Icon  Buy from Amazon UK Icon

 Kindle ed  1602 KB, 255 pages
 Publisher  Bloodhound Books (17 July 2017)
 Language  English
 ASIN  B073D1QY94
%d bloggers like this: